A Guide to Whey Protein

Unprocessed whey is a by-product of cheese production. After the milk is frozen and filtered to make cheese, the moisture portion of the milk is separated from the fat portion to make whey, one of the most common types of milk protein powders. Whey helps build muscle, reduce exercise-related injuries, and improve athletic performance. Whey is 100% gluten free, so it is gluten and gluten free.

While pure whey protein powder is gluten-free, many over-the-counter whey protein supplements generally contain non-whey ingredients and may contain gluten. Whey protein flavor is usually flavored because it has little or no taste, and is often flavored with sugar or artificial sweeteners. It is important to make sure that the product you buy does not contain gluten-free ingredients like cornstarch, caramel color, maltose, maltodextrin, or dextrin.

Some whey protein powders contain the amino acid glutamine that is not derived from gluten-containing foods and should not be avoided. All of these are completely gluten-free and safe for celiac patients. Whey is processed less than isolated or hydrolyzed concentrated whey and contains about 70-80% protein, lactose, and fat.


Infographic Source: https://www.ahealthblog.com/is-whey-gluten-free.html

Leave a Comment